The FA Community Awards Presented by McDonalds

The FA and McDonalds are recognising the invaluable input of volunteers into grassroots football; but they depend on your nominations!

The 2017 Community Awards, presented by McDonald’s and the UK’s four home nation football associations, are now open for nominations but the deadline is April 14th!  The awards recognise and celebrate grassroots volunteers across the UK who make a real difference to their communities.

McDonald’s is the longest standing supporter of grassroots football in the UK and continues to champion those who enable children and young adults to play and enjoy football regardless of gender or disability. You can make your nomination toward the bottom of this page!

McDonald’s Head of English Football Martin Keown is calling on local communities across the UK to nominate those grassroots heroes who have made a real impact; “McDonald’s has been playing an active role in supporting grassroots football for fifteen consecutive years.  Being involved in the McDonald’s Community Awards once again has allowed me to see the continued efforts of thousands of unsung heroes that go into making sure young players of all ages, genders and abilities reach their potential.”

The former Arsenal and England defender said: “Anyone can be nominated for an award; from coaches and caretakers to club secretaries and fund raisers, anyone whose selflessness and commitment allows children to enjoy grassroots football in a safe, friendly and welcoming environment and without discrimination.”


The awards, which take place in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, have eight categories including the People’s Award, which is voted for the by the public, and in England have two awards new for 2017 – Coach of the Year and Best Inclusive Programme.

The eight categories for which you can nominate your grassroots heroes are:

The FA Charter Standard Club Award

The FA Charter Standard Community Club Award

The FA Charter Standard Development Club Award

The FA Charter Standard League of the Year Award

Best Inclusive Project Award

Coach of the Year Award

Young Volunteer of the Year Award

People's Award - Outstanding Contribution to Football

Nominations for The FA, FAW, Scottish FA and IFA Community Awards, presented by McDonald’s, are now open.

>>> Nominate your community football champions now!  <<<


Follow the awards buzz on Twitter and Instagram @BetterPlayUK


Read our handy Nomination Guidance below to give your heroes the best chance possible at national recognition!