SFA banners

SFA County Awards Evening

Somerset Football Association held its annual ‘County Awards Evening’ on Thursday 3rd November 2022 at The Canalside, Bridgwater. 

The evening was an opportunity for Somerset FA to recognise and reward outstanding contribution and achievement to football from Leagues, Clubs and Volunteers within Somerset over the last 12 months.

With around 120 people in attendance, the evening was formally opened by Somerset FA Chairman Phil Chaplin. Awards were presented within Nineteen different categories on the evening.

The first eight categories were sponsored by McDonalds through The FA’s Grassroots Football Awards. Selected awards across the evening were also sponsored by Sedgemoor FM, ASGUK, West Country Drainage Services and The Best of Bridgwater and Taunton. Special guests on the evening included several FA and Football Foundation staff and Somerset FA’s Board of Directors.

The first two awards of the evening were for Grassroots Coach of the Year in adult and youth football, with Jason Horne from Porlock FC winning the Adult Coach Award. Spencer Warren from Cotford Saints Youth won the Youth Coach award.

Following the coaches' awards, The Spirit of Grassroots Football Award was won by Gavin Step from Huish Tigers FC. Then Glenn Seymour from Odcombe FC won the Grassroots Volunteer of the Year before the Grassroots League of the Year went to the Somerset Junior Premier League.

The Grassroots Club of the Year Award, which is always an award every club wants to win, this year was won by Uphill Juniors FC.

Rising Star of the year went to Neisha Mogg.

The referee awards started with the Grassroots Match Official of the Year which was won by Shaun Thorne. Then, The Keith Buller Award for Outstanding Contribution to Refereeing was won by Kevin Johnson.

Young referee of the Year Award, which was sponsored by Sedgemoor FM, went to Jake Richards. Before The Best of Bridgwater & Taunton sponsored Contribution to Refereeing awards were won by Lee Baker, Taffy Long and Stuart Gravenell.

A presentation by the Somerset FA Youth Council followed and a couple of special awards for Tom Bond and Elliot Saunders for contributions to the Youth Council.

Secretary of the Year for Youth Football, sponsored by West Country Drainage Services, was won by Chris Wilkinson from Frome Town United Youth. While Ian Wiltshire from Weston FC (Bath) won the Secretary of the Year for Adult Football Award. Our first ever Digital Engagement Award, which this year was sponsored by ASGUK, was awarded to Swiss Valley Rangers FC. While the SSE Wildcats Centre of the Year went to Weston Mendip Wildcats.

Disability Club of the Year went to Weston Ability FC. While Dave Edmonds from Weston Ability was also awarded Disability Coach of the Year, and Nick Dewfall won Disability Volunteer of the Year.

The last awards of the evening went to Veronica Gilbert (Bath and District League), Howard Parke (Bath and District League), Vince Davis (Bath and District League), Ken Templeman (Taunton), Pauline Smith (Burnham United FC), Glenn Seymour (Odcombe FC), Keith Ingram (Bridgwater), Paul White (Banwell FC) and Nick Stilton (Staplegrove FC) who were all awarded the Services to Football Award for their huge contribution to local football over many years.

The evening was closed by Somerset FA Chairman Phil Chaplin.

“I would like to congratulate all the winners on their thoroughly deserved awards. One of the most pleasurable parts of working for Somerset FA is being able to recognise and reward volunteers in the grassroots game in the county. I am delighted that tonight we have acknowledged their amazing efforts for football and congratulate them on their achievement. Every year the standard of our winners seems to get higher, which is a great testament to our grassroots volunteer workforce. Those volunteers, who give of their time and effort freely, are the greatest strength of the game in Somerset. We are truly fortunate to have such a dedicated and talented group, and that doesn’t just include those we have recognised tonight, but ALL our volunteers across the county. I would like to take this opportunity to thank every one of them all for they do. I would also like to thank McDonalds for their support of the National Awards and to Sedgemoor FM, ASGUK, West Country Drainage Services and The Best of Bridgwater and Taunton for their support of our county awards this year. Their continued support of Grassroots football is greatly appreciated."
- Jon Pike Somerset FA Chief Executive